Weightlifting competition.. me?

Yeah, okay … why not!?  My box Sublime Strength and Conditioning is hosting an in-house weightlifting competition.  Coach Kyle asked if I’d be participating.  I asked him if he was sure he was asking the right person.  I’m not very good at the Olympic lifts (snatch, clean & jerk) and told him I wouldn’t be able to lift close to any of the other ladies at the box, but he said it would still be a fun event and that I should give it a try.

So I said.. OK! hehe.. it’s on December 12th and even though I know it’s for fun, and I’m not going into the competition with expectations of big numbers, I’m nervous.  I did ask the hubby to come and watch me, so I think that’s exciting that I get to have him there (possibly the kids too) as my little cheering squad 🙂

So from now until the competition, I’m hoping to get alot of practice with the lifts and I know I need to push myself a little more when it comes to adding weight and being confident with the lifts.  Especially with snatches, I always hesitate when it comes to adding weight to the bar.  There are times when I’ve added weight to the bar, overthink the lift for a couple minutes and then remove the weight I just added because I’m scared or not confident that I can do the lift.  Thing is, I won’t even try… how silly is that?

2 thoughts on “Weightlifting competition.. me?

Leave a Reply

