Deadlift PR … and I really need to believe in myself more..

Last night’s WOD included working on our 1RM deadlift.  My last recorded deadlift (most recent) was a 3RM @ 200lbs.  So my goal for my 1RM was 215lbs.  I shared my goal with the girls at the gym and they insisted that 215lbs was too light and that I should aim heavier.  I wasn’t sure and remained pessimistic.

Once I reached 205lbs, I realized there was still room to add weight.  I just wasn’t sure how much room.  I increased to 215lbs and 225lbs.  Others insisted that the lift still looked easy so I went up to 235lbs.  I stopped there as my lift started to slow down, but coach assured me that I actually still had more room to go heavier.

It felt great to push myself and surpass my original goal.  Next PR goal: 250lbs

Here a video with my deadlift @ 225lbs.

2 thoughts on “Deadlift PR … and I really need to believe in myself more..

  1. cathyo says:

    Nice job! I haven’t done heavy deadlifts in a long time. I’m nervous since my back injury. Hopefully soon I can start to build up again. That lift looked easy. You will hit 250 easy!

Leave a Reply

