Frustrating WOD…

Good Morning!

I actually have another post that I started yesterday, but now that it’s a new day, I’ve actually got newer things to write about.

Yesterday’s post had a lot to do with my interview (which went really well yesterday afternoon) and the job positions I now need to choose between.

But anyway, enough of work talk.  What I really need to get out there is my frustration from yesterday’s WOD.  Which was:

  • Snatch – @80% 2 reps, 2 sets, @90 1 rep, 3 sets
  • Snatch grip behind the neck press 3 reps + 1 overhead squat – 3 sets
  • Back squat – @70% 3 reps, @80% 3 reps, @90% 2 reps, 3 sets
  • 3 rounds for time:  8 ring rows, 15 kbs (55#), run (not sure of the distance, it was one block – out&back)

For the past month or so, I’ve been practicing my power snatch, as opposed to catching in a squat position.  Last night, Coach Gail wanted me to focus on getting underneath the bar in that squat position.  And I don’t know why it’s so terrifying for me to drop into a squat.  I was working with a light weight (50#) which after 5 days of no workouts, felt very heavy for me.. hehe..  but I just struggled so much.  And there was actually one attempt, where as I was pulling the bar into the overhead position, my right foot somehow slipped and I was off balance for only a second and luckily managed to catch my balance and still hold on to the bar.  Thinking back to that moment, it could have been quite the disaster and the injury.  Because my foot had slipped from underneath me, I could have easily landed on my back and who knows what I would have done with the bar.  That’s another issue I seem to struggle with, letting go and dropping the bar.  So many times, Coach Kyle has told me to just drop the bar after a lift.. but I never do.  Ever.  Maybe it’s the noise of the bar dropping that I don’t want to hear.. or cause?

Anyway, moving forward I really need to work on my squat snatch, and I know there’s going to be a lot of frustration that comes along with the practice.  I’m hoping that I can practice consistently and make progress.

The snatch grip behind the neck press was also very difficult for me and again very frustrating.  It wasn’t a good day and I’m realizing that my nutrition is also impacting my energy/strength levels.  I’m not eating enough and not fuelling my workouts.  So I need to address this right away.  Sad part about this week?  I made one meal… no other cooking 😦    I need to make a change.

Back to yesterday’s WOD… the back squats felt good.  I’m hoping for a PR when testing week comes up.  We’ll see.  And the ring rows and kbs felt great.  The run sucked! It was such a short distance, but I was huffing and puffing.  Not good.

UGH…

Anyway I need to to suck it up.. and focus on today’s WOD @ 5pm.  I’m hoping for a good one 🙂

Frustrations or not, I will forever love Crossfit 🙂

Any tips or advice on how to get underneath the bar for a snatch?

 

One thought on “Frustrating WOD…

  1. cathyo says:

    I’m with you… I have such a hard time dropping under the bar on the snatch. I tend to power snatch and then drop into the squat in two steps. Anytime we have squat snatch work I always stick light and just work on form….i keep hoping one day it will click. I’m getting much better, but still have a long way to go. that’s the beauty of CrossFit…there is ALWAYS room for improvement! Happy weekend!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

