14.5 – Hesitating again…

It’s Monday, and I still haven’t done the Open 14.5 WOD yet 😦

My plan was to go to the box and tackle the WOD on Saturday morning but I woke up with the worse headache.

Not even sure if it was really a headache.  All I know is that I had the worse feeling of dizziness and being light headed.  Neither coffee nor food helped.  It definitely wasn’t fun.  If I could have, I would have stayed home and in bed all day but my daughter had an eye doctor appointment and I didn’t want to miss that.

Friday night I did try out a couple thrusters at home, w/ empty bar (45#)  It felt okay but I immediately questioned whether I could do 65# for 21 reps, 18 reps, 15 reps… 

Even up to this moment, I’m still unsure of whether or not I can make it through the WOD.  One part of me is feeling that this WOD will be one of the most frustrating experiences and thinking maybe I just skip it.  The other part of me is feeling that I need to just suck it up buttercup and if it takes an hour, then so be it.  A big part of me just wants to put the Open WODs behind me and focus on my weaknesses and skills that I don’t have yet.

We’ll see.. I’m feeling very.. BLAH right now… 

I’ll post an update later tonight to let you all know what went down..

5 thoughts on “14.5 – Hesitating again…

  1. cathyo says:

    I think you should give it a try. If you can’t finish, well at least you tried. I did mine friday night and was so worried about it…since i don’t do 65# thrusters in a WOD. I did a few warm up ones before my turn at 65# and it didn’t make me feel that confident. They were killer. I ended up breaking them into sets of 3. That’s about all I could do, so that’s what I did. I wasn’t speedy by any stretch of the means, but I DID IT!!! 34:16 of hell…but I was so happy when I finished that WOD…and proud of myself. I really didn’t think I could do it and I did…that’s why i think you need to at least give it a shot. Good luck!!!

  2. adreamtoparis says:

    Good luck! can’t wait to see what happened! 🙂 14.5 was tough but you feel so awesome afterwards…. well after the 15 minutes of heaving and wanting to lay on the floor.

      • adreamtoparis says:

        My box put a 20 minute time cap on it and I could of gone to 45 but I knew I wouldnt finish so i used a 15Kg bar only so Im going to try it in a couple weeks (like you) with 45… and then 65 a few weeks later.
        See the differences in time. 🙂

  3. Val says:

    Do it! You might surprise yourself! I had set myself an hour limit to finish it and managed to finish in 38:53. It was tough, I won’t lie, but so are you. You have all the time you need, just do it, one rep at a time!

Leave a Reply

