14.5 – close but not exactly

I showed up at the box for the 5pm class.
I still wasn’t sure whether I was going to do 14.5
I wasn’t ready.
So I didn’t do it and instead did the scheduled WOD.
Afterwards I had the opportunity to watch and cheer on a fellow cross fitter on her 2nd attempt for 14.5
It was inspiring to watch, she was near tears but kept going.
She beat her time from her 1st attempt,
As I watched her I knew that it was a good decision to not do the WOD. At least that’s what I told myself. I’m not sure how I would’ve reacted to people yelling at me to keep going, pushing to finish. I don’t think I could have made it to the end due to my lack of strength with thrusters.
Again that’s what I was convincing myself of.
As I left for home I checked my phone and read some motivating comments here… Thank you!
I decided I would go home and try 14.5
I was pretty certain that 65# would be too hard for me and decided to scale the WOD.
So I finished 14.5 using 45# for the thrusters.
Time: 18:33

I think I’ll give 14.5 another try in a couple weeks with the Rx’d weight. Definitely will take me longer but finishing tonight with a lighter weight was a good trial for me.

I’ve definitely learned a lot about myself during the Opens and I know there is a lot of room for improvement.
I’m excited about making progress.

2 thoughts on “14.5 – close but not exactly

Leave a Reply

