Survived Day 1.. and boy my hips are tight!!

I’m happy to report that I survived my first day on the whole 30.  It actually wasn’t that bad.  There are a couple things that I didn’t follow 100% though.

I had a green smoothie for breakfast.  I know the whole30 recommends that we chew our food and that liquid food is processed differently but it’s so much easier for me to get my veggies/greens in with a smoothie.  I didn’t add any fruit juice as a base though.. just water, spinach, grapes and a few strawberries.. oh and chia seeds.  I think that was okay.  Then I also had a few hard boiled eggs and some ham.  Lunch was my stuffed pepper which was so delicious!  I have it for lunch again today, and I don’t mind.  Dinner is where things got tough.. I wasn’t prepared enough, so ended up having spinach with eggs and bacon.  It’s wasn’t bad.. but I wish I had prepared something else.  Oh I also had a spinach salad with grapes and walnuts for lunch yesterday, no salad dressing, but it was delicious!

I also snacked during the day, on grapes/blueberries and cashews, which is not recommended but it really helps me make it through the day.  I’ll try to cut back on the snacking if it means increasing my meal portions.  I also struggled with my pre and post workout meals.  My dinner turned out to be my pre workout… I’m not sure if it’s okay that I didn’t eat anything before my workout (in addition to dinner) and post workout I had my usual banana and I don’t think anything else.  Probably not the best way to re-feed by body.

My workout was also later than usual, so when I got home I scrambled to start cooking.  Then I realized that the sausage I bought to use in my sweet potato casserole, had sugar and toasted wheat crumbs 😦  So I could use them.  I ended up making a sweet potato and apple bake with coconut oil and cinnamon.  Can’t wait to eat this after lunch.

So how did Day 1 go?  For the most part it went really well.  Today I’m skipping my workout (unless I can get in earlier – but doubtful) so that I can do more meal prep.  I just want to cook cook and cook some more, so that I have food available to grab out of the fridge, and so I’m not scrambling to find something to eat.

Yesterday’s WOD:

Front squat – 3-3-3

Wall shoulder glides

Feet elevated push ups

Reverse dumb bell lunges

Ring rows

Paloff ISO hold

A very short workout.  But my hips are so tight that I couldn’t get anywhere near the weight I usually front squat.  So frustrating.  My hips have been fairly tight the last couple weeks and I’ve been doing my best to stretch them out, and usually I can squat through the tightness, but not last night.  It was almost a sharp pain as I squatted.  I don’t think there will be more squats in this week’s WODs, so that’s good news.  Maybe I just need to take it easy.

6 thoughts on “Survived Day 1.. and boy my hips are tight!!

  1. cathyo says:

    do you do anything special for the sweet potato and apple bake, or just chop and toss with the coconut oil and cinnamon and then bake? it sounds like a great treat. I’m doing another whole life challenge, so looking for some tasty treats that are compliant.

  2. idrankthecfkoolaid says:

    Not to be a debbie downer or anything but I think you should try to follow the guidelines just for the 30 days. I know you aren’t asking for my opinion! I see you were compliant with the foods, but the smoothie and the snacking elimination are part of rewiring your whole self. And maybe add more fats like avocado or coconut instead of having your fats come from nuts and seeds. I know it’s only day 1 and I’m not trying to be discouraging, I promise. I just want you to have success! I rewrote this several times trying to not sound like a jerk, so please don’t take it that way. 😀

    • j!b says:

      I could never take your advice negatively and I’m thankful that you want me to be successful. I’ll try to have whole veggies for breakfast rather than a shake. And reduce the snacking. Its so easy to try and tweak the rules to make things easier but it’s also important to stick to them 100%. I’ll keep you posted on how things go.

      • idrankthecfkoolaid says:

        Whew! I hate feeling like I might be crossing lines, ya know? Just trying to be helpful though!

        Believe me I’m a snacker. And mindless one at that. I can eat through a whole bag of chips or a whole tub of nuts, regardless if I’m hungry or not. I just snack away. But when I eat the right proportions for the meals, I seem to do just fine. No cravings. No hankerings for that little or big snack. It is baby steps though and you have to do what you have to do to get through, just make sure you actually NEED the snack before you eat it. It’s an experiment for sure.

      • j!b says:

        I’m definitely a mindless snacker as well.. I have a desk job and work in front of a computer all day, so snacking seems like something to do.. hehe.. I’ll see how things go for the rest of the day. Oh one thing I struggle with as well is that I’m a slow eating, so breakfast for me, could take up to an hour to finish. Do you think that would cause any issues?

Leave a Reply

