It’s true.. hard work always pays off…

I’m pretty sure I’ve wrote numerous posts where I mention how crazy busy work is and how work is kicking my butt!

And my husband has heard my fair share of griping and whining about my work load.  The weekends of work… well it’s paid off.

I was actually quite surprised to meet with my career leader this morning, only to be informed that I was receiving a bonus for all my hard work this year 🙂  It definitely made my day and is helping me with the late nights, staying up to work.

Crossfit has been going really well too.  Over the past couple weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to workout with 4 different coaches, so I’ve been receiving alot of feedback, tips and techniques on my olympic lifting techniques.  And it’s all so helpful.  I’m finally starting to feel comfortable with the lifts, and will start focusing on adding weight.

Today’s WOD

10 mins

EMOTM: 5 power snatches + double unders (for remainder of the minute)

10 mins rest

10 mins

EMOTM: 5 power cleans + burpees (for remainder of the minute)

 

It was definitely a tough workout.  For the power snatches, I used 55lbs in the first couple rounds but had to strip the weight off and just go with the bar (35lbs) for the remainder of the rounds.  I’m glad that my double unders are getting better/easier and was able to get a total of 203 double unders.  My first round I was able to string together 49 in a row!  For the power clean, I did 55lbs and those were a little tough too.  I found it tough to focus on technique because there was an emphasis to get the 5 reps done as quickly as possible.  I got a total of 60 burpees.  But my body is sore today, I’ve got a bruise on my collar bone from the power cleans and my shins are all bruised from trying to keep the bar as close to my shins/legs as possible.

No new PRs on my end, there have been some WODs were we needed to look for our 1RM clean & jerk and snatch but for those WODs I was still working on my technique.  My current goals would be to hit a 65lb snatch/overhead squat and a 75lb clean and jerk before the end of the year.  

Still can’t believe December is just a week away and 2014 is almost here.  It’s been almost 7 months since I joined Crossfit, so hard to believe!  The past 7 months have been the most fun I’ve ever had in terms of exercise and I always look forward to class.. still dread it sometimes and still feel slight anxiety, but I love every single WOD and as hard and challenging and painful some of the WODs are, I’ll always come back for more! 🙂

I definitely need to get started with the Christmas shopping.  I would love to crochet/knit some gifts for my girlfriends, just need to pick up the supplies and learn some of the patterns.  Very excited! 

Hope everyone is having a great week so far!

2 thoughts on “It’s true.. hard work always pays off…

  1. cathyo says:

    Congrats on the bonus. Always nice when the hard work gets recognized. Takes the sting out of all those late nights a bit too!

    Isn’t CrossFit the absolute best. I friggin love it. It still scares the crap out of me but every class is always so good. Once I get started I forget about how scared I am!

Leave a Reply

