Finally met “Christine”

image

A couple big things at Crossfit tonight.  The first one would be finally hitting 20 reps of strict push ups. What does this mean exactly? It means that I can finally work on my ring dips. So I’m definitely excited to work in my ring dips and eventually work on my goal of a muscle up. I can’t lie the last few reps we’re definitely a challenge.  The last time I tried going for 20 pushups I only got to 12 reps so when I made it to 12 tonight and was still feeling great I was really excited. I love surprising myself with how much stronger I’m getting.  You never really think you’re getting stronger but surprisingly you are.
Omg!! Not sure if I wrote about it but I hit two new PRs last week:
Deadlift 205#
Front squat 125#
Anyway what did we do after the pushups?
Well I finally got to meet Christine one of the girls (WOD) of CrossFit. The workout was three rounds for time consisting of a 500 meter row, 12 deadlifts @ 70% bodyweight and 21 box jumps (16″ box). This was definitely a hard one but I’m glad to say that I finished with time 13 minutes and 23 seconds. I think my pace was fairly consistent throughout the three rounds my rowing did slow down a little bit but not significantly. And I completed Christine with the prescribed weights. Our testing week continues and this week we are also going to meet Karen and there will also be a 5000 meter row which I’m definitely not looking forward to. I suspect it will take me approximately 25 minutes to complete if I can keep a consistent pace. We’ll also be working on back squats and I can’t remember what else what is going on but its going to be a very challenging week.
Also this week I may be switching over to the building program and possibly starting to train on the competition team. I don’t think I’m anywhere near ready to compete and that’s okay I know there’s a lot of work ahead of me in terms of learning the Olympic lifts and getting stronger but I’m looking forward to that challeng. When I first joined CrossFit I had no intentions or plans or goals to compete but it’s definitely something to work towards and I do want to challenge myself so that’s what I’m aiming for. I suspect I won’t be ready to compete until later next year. I will start looking at the calendar and potential competitions and hopefully soon I can set a competition as my goal.
I’ll keep you guys posted.

Leave a Reply

