Work, Crossfit and COOKIES (Almond butter dark chocolate chip cookies.. to be exact!)

Yet again, work is kicking my butt!  It’s a beautiful Saturday afternoon, and my nephew’s 3rd birthday party, and yet here I am, at home.. WORKING! 😦

WAH!! Ok ok.. suck it up, buttercup, right?  Plus a little extra $$$ never hurt anyone.

Fingers crossed that today is the last weekend of work, at least until the end of August.  

What’s been going on in my little world?

Well, Crossfit is going really well still.  Only able to make it to 4 classes/week, but hoping I can get back to 5 classes/week.  This past Monday we were introduced to Good Mornings.  And I definitely felt them in my legs the next couple days.  My shoulder is feeling better and I’m able to do pull ups again, YAY!!  I still need to push myself outside that comfort zone a little more.  I’d like to set a goal of doing a muscle-up before my birthday (Sept) but I’m a little hesitant because it looks like such a hard move.  This morning’s WOD was a partner workout, and between the 2 of us we had to complete:

200 wall balls

100 push ups

200 box jumps

100 overhead med ball walking lunges

It was a tough one but it was a great way to start a Saturday.

This past week I also came across an awesome cookie recipe.

Image

 

Almond butter Dark Chocolate Chip cookies (Adapted from Amee’s Savory Dish)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond butter 
  • 1/4 cup honey 
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2/3 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Oil baking sheets or line with parchment paper.
3. Stir together first 7 ingredients. Mix well. Make sure honey is fully incorporated.
4. Add coconut and chocolate chips and mix until well combined.
5. Scoop with a cookie scoop onto cookie sheets. Bake 9-12 minutes or until lightly browned.
Yield: about 20 cookies with a level 2 Tbsp. cookie scoop
 
I found that letting them bake for less time (9 minutes) yielded moister cookies.  I left one batch in for 12 minutes and they definitely came out slightly darker and not as fluffy/moist.
 
These are amazingly good cookies and so easy and quick to make.  Definitely my go to cookie recipe.  I brought them into work and everyone loves them and can’t believe there’s no flour in the recipe!
 
So back to my goal of eating better.. the slight modifications I wanted to make to my eating haven’t been happening, specifically staying away from hashbrowns for breakfast.  I find that when I’m stressed out, I want to munch on those comfort foods.  So I had alot of hashbrowns this week.  Not an excessive amount, but definitely enough to keep me from my goals.  Must get back on track!!  
 
And must get back to work.
So far 3.5 hours into this OT shift.
Hoping it won’t last much longer so that I can enjoy the rest of the weekend.
One thought on “Work, Crossfit and COOKIES (Almond butter dark chocolate chip cookies.. to be exact!)

Leave a Reply

