No better time than now..

To write this post.
Since I’m currently locked out of the house.
I completely forgot my parents had a doctors appointment this afternoon. So I left work early and realize that no one is at the house and the storm door in the front is also locked so I can’t even use my keys to get in. And so here I am waiting patiently for my parents and the kids to return. I’m glad that weather wise the sun is shining and there’s not a single rain cloud the sky thank goodness because I wouldn’t be very happy if I had to sit on the doorstep in the rain getting wet.
So how did my day go? After deciding on my next goal last night I really wanted to stay focused today and it definitely wasn’t easy. As soon as I got to work I already started thinking about picking up breakfast at the cafeteria. I was already thinking that it would be okay if I just started tomorrow. Why not enjoy one last plate of hash browns or a couple more cookies. But then I realized that if I were to have hash browns and cookies then my goal would be harder to reach only because I was already finding excuses to indulge. So I had my breakfast eggs with spinach and I still had my coffee with French Vanilla creamer but there were no hash browns and there were no cookies. And as I mentioned in my last post I also took a picture of myself this morning. And I have to admit that I’m not really impressed with what I saw. But I should have expected what I saw only because I know that I haven’t been watching what I’ve been eating ever since I started CrossFit. Again its not that I was eating a lot of junk food but I definitely wasn’t eating as clean as I should have. And really that’s okay it’s not the end of the world it’s just time for me to get focused now and really think about what I’m putting in my mouth. So here is the picture and what I will be comparing my progress to for the next couple of months:

image

So what is my plan of attack? Here are a few things that I want to focus on right now:
1. Cut out the hashbrowns and cookies
2. Start snacking on cottage cheese w fruit (realized I hadn’t bought cottage cheese in over a month!)
3. Start running again.
4. More meal prep and eating a packed lunch.

I think that’s about it for now. I don’t want to take on too much too soon although I know that these minor changes should be fairly easy to make. So we’ll see how things go and I’ll make sure to report on my progress and take regular pictures. Oh and one other thing that I want to focus on is just cutting back on my sugar intake in general. I still don’t think I’m having a lot of sugar but I’m sure the little sugary snacks I have been enjoying add up the end of the day.

9 thoughts on “No better time than now..

  1. LoseItBig says:

    I think (at least I kind of hope) that when we look at our self in the mirror we see all the flaws. I look at myself and see way too many. I have had a couple of compliments so, maybe its not as bad as I think. I look at you and you look great to me. Meaning, we are our own worst critics. Good luck with your slight modifications.

    • j! ayson says:

      Thank you! I completely agree with your comment about us being our worst critics. Even shortly after I started CrossFit my co workers would compliment me on the changes in my physique telling me how my arms looked more defined and although I always thanked them for their kind words in my head I couldn’t see the difference. Your comment is a nice reminder to not be too hard on myself so I will definitely give that a try.

  2. cathyo says:

    I hear you! I’m feeling the same way. Working so hard at CrossFit but eating less than ideal is stalling my progress. I need to clean up my act and eat better. I’m having a better week so hopefully I can keep it going. We can keep each other on track!

    • j! ayson says:

      Definitely! Let’s keep each other on track! I’m only on day 2 of trying to eat better and it’s already tough! hehe.. I keep going back to the thought “one cookie can’t hurt.. the next CrossFit class will make up for it!” hehe..

    • j! ayson says:

      I’ve heard Chobani is super delicious! We don’t have that available here (I don’t think it’s available in Canada at all), so I’m sorta glad. Although I’d still love to try it one day. I also need to cut back on my dark chocolate consumption. Again, it’s not alot, but it adds up.

      • leannenalani says:

        I’m trying to expand my Greek Yogurt habit to low sugar options like plain stuff. Fage is decent. I love Chobani so much but the sugar content is just ludicrous. They really need to do something about that!

Leave a Reply

