Crossfit – a month in review

I am fast approaching my one month anniversary since starting Crossfit.

Do I still feel anxiety before each class? You bet.. although it’s gotten better compared to the first couple weeks.  What have I learned in my first month?

  • the WOD always looks easier written on the board.  I still walk up to the board at the beginning of class, quickly read through the WOD exercises and think “eh.. doesn’t sound too bad”.  But as always, it’s definitely more challenging than I think it will be.  But I love it.. I love being wrong and having the work out more intense and difficult than I originally thought
  • I never really worked out my glutes before.  I’ve done squats at home, never did deadlifts though.  Only until I started Crossfit did I really feel the burn in my glutes.
  • Crossfit is a full body workout.  There are days that I feel that I need to throw in an extra workout, ones that focus on my back or shoulders, but I’m reminded that the exercises I’m doing during my Crossfit classes are working out all my muscles and I will see progress.
  • I’m stronger than I thought.  It’s a great feeling to be able to deadlift 165lbs on my first attempt at doing deadlifts.  I can also do strict pull ups/chin ups, only 3-4 in a row.  I also did my first ring dip today.  Very hard, but I managed to do one!! Small victory!
  • Crossfit is expensive, but you get what you pay for.  I’ve never had someone watch my form so closely.  I’ve never had so many individuals pushing me and motivating me through the last rep/minute.  It’s such a great feeling to be at one end of the box (gym) doing squats, and having others at the other end of the box yelling at me to push, push, push.  We all seem to understand each other and we have similar goals, so it’s a great Crossfit family.
  • Rowing machines and AirDyne bikes are exceptionally deceptive.  They look like easy cardio machines, but they are tough!  And they always leave me tired, legs/arms burning, gasping for air.
  • I’m more determined than ever to be the girl that can do a muscle up, handstand pushup and all the olympic lifts.  I can’t wait to switch to the building phase, but only once I’m comfortable and confident with the technique and form of all the lifts.
  • I must enjoy Crossfit because I look forward (and slightly dread) each class.  I was unable to attend some classes early last week because I was sick and I felt so bad that I couldn’t make it.  I can really see myself attending class 5 times a week and not getting tired of it.

For anyone who’s considering giving Crossfit a try, I would highly recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Crossfit – a month in review

  1. cathyo says:

    i’m so jealous you can do pull ups. i curse my weak upper body and fat ass every time I have to pull out a band to help me with them. one day I will be able to do them…one day!

  2. amrapandthensome says:

    Congrats on your first month! And they are always deceiving. I always play the game of, “which movement will be the surprise killer today?” and I’m surprised more often than not! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

