Long weekends are always nice… and Healthy Banana Muffins!

Not so nice when they’re filled with rain though.

Yup, that’s exactly what we got here this long weekend.  3 days of rain!  The gloominess definitely made it difficult to get energized and all I wanted to do was stay in bed under the blankets.  The temperatures inside the house were quite cool, but it just didn’t feel right to turn the furnace back on when we’re so close to June.  This morning though was way too chilly and I felt bad for the kiddies, so I did turn the furnace back on.. UGH!

This past weekend we had a couple birthday parties, one for my nephew and the other for one of my close girlfriends.  The kids had a blast at the kids birthday party, and the adults had a blast at my girlfriend’s party.  I have to admit I drank way too much wine!  And ate way too much pizza, chips and deep fried wontons.. oh yeah! hehe.. I think that may have been the must indulging I’ve done in a long time.  There are some guilty feelings about it, especially when the birthday girl (after her numerous glasses of wine) asks me to show her my abs! haha.. after eating all that food and drinking all that wine?!  No way my abs were going to make an appearance.  I told her she should’ve asked me at 6am, when my tummy was nice a flat and empty! hehe..

We didn’t get home til 1am and we all slept in til 10:30am!  We slowly got out of bed, had breakfast at home and got ready to head to the mall.  With all the rain, there really wasn’t much else to do.  After hanging out at the mall and having dim sum for an early dinner, we headed home so that I could get ready for the work week.

Later in the evening, after the kiddies had supper and had their showers, poor J threw up, not once, but TWICE!  It was really bad timing that it happened while he was in our bed (both times).  So the comforter is now hanging in the garage, after I sprayed it down in the tub to clean it up as much as I could.  It will now have to be taken to the drycleaners since there’s no way it will fit in our washing machine/dryer at home.  And luckily I had brand new sheet set in the closet to open up, after he soiled 2 sheets.  Needless to say, it was a very tiring Monday evening.  Luckily he went to bed fairly quickly and there was no more throwing up.

Between the loads of laundry, cooking supper/lunch and cleaning up after a pukey kid, I did manage to make some healthy banana walnut chocolate chip muffins.  Here’s the recipe I used:

Healthy Banana Muffins w/ Walnut and Chocolate Chips

(makes 12 muffins)

1 3/4 whole wheat flour

1/3 cup coconut oil (you can use olive oil as well)

1/2 cup honey (you can reduce this amount based on your sweetness preferences)

1tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup mashed banana (about 2 medium sized ripe bananas)

1/4 cup hot water

Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl (whole wheat flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon)

In a bigger bowl, mix the coconut oil and honey until well combined.  Add the 2 eggs and the mashed bananas.

Alternate between adding the dry ingredients and the hot water to the wet ingredients.  Toss in chopped walnuts and chocolate chips (I didn’t add a measurement, you can add as much or as little as you’d like)

Pour into 12 lined muffins tins and put in the oven @ 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Use a toothpick inserted into the middle of the muffin to ensure the muffin is thoroughly baked.

I was surprised at how delicious they turned out, without any butter or milk.

This week is a short work week! yay!  and hubby is working days so he will be home in the evenings.  double yay!  I’ve got Crossfit tonight, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday.  Besides that, not much else going on.  I didn’t get any organizing or de-cluttering done at home this past weekend, so that is still on my to do list.  My cousin did say she would pick up the crib that’s still in my bedroom, so I’m really excited to get that out of the house!

4 thoughts on “Long weekends are always nice… and Healthy Banana Muffins!

  1. teresasdreams says:

    The muffins sound great! I’ll have to try them soon.

    I love decluttering, but need to spend more time doing it. I’m anxious to go through kids toys since they don’t play with half of what they have.

  2. cathyo says:

    Those muffins sound delish. I’m not a big baker but u may try those out. I’ve for some bananas in the freezer that I could use. Most times they sit in the freezer forever and I finally get tired of seeing them and pitch them! Maybe today since I’m working from home I can try them this afternoon. Will let you know if i do.

  3. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout says:

    Hehe I love how all your baked recipes always include banana – yums! Do you ever get good weather where you are – it always seems to be freezing or raining 😉 ! Glad you had a fun weekend and hope your little one is now feeling better 🙂

    • j! ayson says:

      hehe.. yup, I love to use bananas in my recipes.. I like using ripe bananas for the sweetness, so that I can cut back wherever I can on the sugar. They’re definitely my go-to ingredient. Eventually the weather will get nice and hot, we probably get 3-4 months of really nice weather. If we’re lucky. If we get too much rain, then there’s the likelihood that we’ll have a huge mosquito population, and that’s never fun either. Oh well, what can you do?
      Little one is feeling much better, thank you! He made it to his farm field trip yesterday and was pretty excited to tell us about all the animals he saw.

Leave a Reply

