Okay, I’m done feeling sorry for myself…

It’s time to “suck it up, buttercup!”

There’s not much I can do about this pain when I run.  I’m going to get it checked out tomorrow and I’ll move forward from there.

The past couple weeks have been rough dealing with this injury and I definitely let my healthy eating slip.  I was frustrated so I turned to comfort food.  Work was kicking my butt, so I munched on junk food.  It hasn’t been a great past couple weeks.

But I’m done.. I’m actually more frustrated that I let myself use my frustration and work stress to stuff my face.  It’s time to get back on track.  A few things that I need to keep under control:

  • buying breakfast and lunch at the work cafeteria.  This is never a good idea.  First off, the prices are ridiculous!  For the price of 2 eggs, I can purchase an entire dozen at the grocery store, same goes with toast.  I can get a loaf of bread for the price of 2 slices of toast (well, maybe 4 slices.. unless I’m buying rye bread).  Plus when I buy breakfast at the work cafeteria, it’s very likely that I’ll buy hashbrowns, because they look good.  I know they’re super greasy, and they’ll probably make me feel bloated afterwards, but they’re just there.. and they call out to me.. “eat me!”.. hehe.. definitely can’t do that anymore.
  • Pack better snacks at work.  When I’m in meetings all morning or all afternoon, I find that I want to just munch on something.. and that something usually isn’t good.  It may be a cookie or a donut.  And it will be just one donut or just one cookie, but still it’s something I didn’t even crave.. I just went ahead and ate it, just because.
  • Cook.  Last week was a really bad week and the last thing I wanted to do was cook and that led me to buying lunch almost every day.  Not good on the wallet, not good at all.  So far this week I’m doing really good.  I made cottage cheese pancakes, even substituted half the whole wheat flour with quinoa flour.  They turned out pretty good.  I also made a black bean seafood stirfry w/ shrimp, mussels and orange pepper.  After I work out tonight I’ll have to figure out what to cook.  Back up plan, there’s some shaved turkey breast in the fridge and I can make myself a sandwich for lunch tomorrow.

I think that’s all I want to focus on this week.  No more munching, no more cafeteria breakfast or lunch.  I think my body will thank me.

I can’t control my injury, but I can control what I put in my mouth, so enough is enough.

3 thoughts on “Okay, I’m done feeling sorry for myself…

  1. leannenalani says:

    I’d do the same thing if I went to a cafeteria or any kind of place that serves food during the work day. It’s hard to make the healthiest choices with all the tasty stuff dangling in front of you. That pricing is crazy.

Leave a Reply

