Week 7 of Marathon training.. and finally… CALVES!

I’m in week 7 of my marathon training and it’s hard to believe that running 5 miles now is not a huge deal.  Still a little tough, but the thought of it isn’t as daunting as it used to be.  Run 5 miles?  Sure, no problem.  I still can’t get over the thought of running a 1/2 marathon (plus more) every Sunday for the next 10 weeks!  7 weeks ago, there was no way I could imagine myself running this much.  7 weeks ago, I was trying to think of valid excuses to get out of this marathon goal.  And yet here I am.. still running.. and on a treadmill!  Hill training starts tonight and I’m actually looking forward to building strength in my legs.

I was in a meeting with my manager earlier this morning and it was quite the surprise to hear her say “Oh my.. look at your calves!”  It’s very exciting to think that my legs are getting stronger and growing due to all this running.  I don’t think I’ve ever shared this fact, but I love seeing nice calves on individuals.  I often find that individuals who work out, will have nice upper bodies and nice quads, but tend to lack in the calves area.  If I’m at the gym and an individual has awesome calves, I will notice it right away.  Calves.. and shoulders.  Shoulders would be the other body part that I love, especially on women.

Anyway, it felt great to hear her notice my calves.  Yay!

Another great thing about today?  I got a chance to chat online with  the hubby, who I miss dearly.  I was up around 3am (which is making me extremely tired right now) and I couldn’t get back to bed, so I thought I’d log into Facebook.  And he was online too, so we chatted til about 4am.  I can’t wait til he’s back… only 9 more days! yay!

It’s Good Friday, which means a long weekend and no work tomorrow.  Another Yay! hehe..

Overall it’s been a very good day and I get to have dark chocolate again in a few days.

 

Leave a Reply

