The past week…

Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA for the past week.  First a recap of how things went:

– running – FAIL!  I made it to the gym for a run once.. this was the last time I posted about my 5 mile run.  I did make it back again on Saturday morning and ran for 6 miles so although I’m not going as frequent as I’d like, the mileage is consistent with a slight increase.  So that was very exciting.

– water – PASS!  I’m definitely finding drinking more water more natural, and don’t need to try so hard.  I’m definitely still running to the washroom more than I’d like but it’s okay.

– workouts – FAIL!  I don’t remember making it down to the gym much this past week.  

– meals – PASS!  I worked from home last week, so I didn’t have the opportunity to really go out for lunch.  I did take the kids out for sushi one day, so that was the one allowed meal.

Last week was a bit of a blur and definitely there were a couple days were I had some pretty bad cravings, but by Saturday I was back to healthier eating, so I was feeling much better.  Last Thursday I had a bad craving for spring rolls, so I went and made some veggie spring rolls.  I had a couple sweet potatoes sitting in the pantry, so I add them to the recipe.  The spring rolls consisted of matchstick sweet potatoes, bean sprouts, carrots and onions.  So the filling was nice and healthy.  The not-so-healthy part came when I had to fry the spring rolls.  I debated baking the spring rolls but I wasn’t sure how they were going to turn out.  In total I made 20 spring rolls.. and on Thursday I ate 8! OMG!!  I had THE WORSE tummy ache ever.  I felt so bloated and I think I had heart burn.  (Never had heart burn before, so I’m not familiar with the feeling) But boy did I over do it! hehe… Then the rest of the spring rolls were still sitting there on Friday, so I had 4 more! haha..  had a small tummy ache again but not as bad.  Lesson learned!!

On a healthier note, this past weekend, I also added quinoa to my meals and I think I found my new favorite carb side dish!  I’ve had a package of quinoa sitting in my pantry for what feels like forever, but I just never got around to cooking any, and I usually made brown rice, so when I ran out of brown rice, I thought I’d give it a try.  I love how the quinoa mixes in so nicely with whatever dish I’m having.

Plans this week are to make a clean apple crisp and more banana oatmeal cookies.  I’m missing my dark chocolate 😦  Only 35 more days.

Same goals for this week.. really I just want to be consistent with the running, working out and eating.  Eventually these will no longer be goals and it will just be part of my lifestyle.

 

 

Leave a Reply

