How hard can I push myself… And other random thoughts

So to start off, I wanted to recap my goals last week and how I did:
– run 3 times – SUCCESS (but only if I extend my week to Saturday at 10am) I didn’t make it to the fun on Friday morning for my 3rd run of the week but made it out on Saturday morning. It finally warmed up to go for a short run outside.

image

– work out 5 times – FAIL with the running I think I only made it down to the gym 4 times last week. Workouts weren’t a intense as I had planned.
– drink more water SUCCESS I definitely drank more water thus week and it’s getting easier.
– prep meals 6 days of the week. SUCCESS. I did go out for lunch once but brought lunch for a majority of the week.

Today was (what I would consider) a cheat meal for me. I had a double cheeseburger from McDonalds and a few fries, a handful of Pringles, a bunch of dark chocolate candy and 2 empanadas. Note to self: after a day of not-so-clean eating, don’t check yourself out in the mirror because you will not like what you see. And yet what else could you expect?
I’ve been thinking alot lately again of what my real goals are. Aside from running a full marathon this year, I’m not sure what else I’m pushing myself for. Don’t get me wrong, I love this healthier lifestyle that I’m living note. I love eating healthier and not feeling the need to eat donuts, desserts and other goodies. I do like to see the progress and changes in my body. a part of me wants to try pushing myself a little harder, eat a little stricter but then I ask… For what exactly? I love my coffee creamer and my dark chocolate. Could I really cut them out? Do I need to?
I do think I need a little mini challenge, maybe to excel my progress. And maybe just to see what I can really do with my body.
I think I’ll sleep on it tonight and think about what I really want.

3 thoughts on “How hard can I push myself… And other random thoughts

  1. leannenalani says:

    You probably don’t need to nickel and dime yourself. You can still make the progress you want and maintain some balance so that you can still enjoy the things you love. Anyway, if you are too strict with yourself, you might find that you will end up going overboard due to feeling too deprived.

    • j! ayson says:

      Thanks! You’re right about being too strict and going overboard. It can definitely happen. I find there’s that thin line that I don’t want to cross, and need to keep things enjoyable. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

  2. teresasdreams says:

    If coffee creamer and dark chocolate are your two weaknesses, don’t try to cut them out. Work on keeping everything else as clean as possible, and allow yourself those 2 indulgences. At least that’s what I think. If we try to be perfect all the time, we will likely fail or feel deprived. You’re doing great and are an inspiration to me! I’m even starting to think about jogging (not running for this girl yet) when the weather gets nicer.

Leave a Reply

