Step 1.. COMPLETE!

So I had finally set the goal of running my first marathon this year.  And I’m excited to announce that I am officially registered!  I joined a coworker and some of her friends for lunch yesterday and her friends had mentioned that for that day only there was a 35% off special on registration fees for the marathon!  So as soon as I got back to my desk, I went to their website and registered.

Image

 

I posted this picture on my personal Instagram account and what’s even more exciting is that I may have motivated some friends to come out and run too!  I absolutely love hearing about family and friends getting active and setting goals.  And it’s a great feeling to know that I may have inspired them to just go for it.

Now it really feels “real” and I am starting to feel very nervous about my body’s capabilities to run for 5+ hours.  

My short term goals for the month are:

– run 6 miles at a comfortable pace – complete by January 31st

– register for the Running Room Full Marathon training clinic – complete by Jan 21st (once I’m back from Mexico)

And another mini-goal I’m thinking about.. running a 1/2 marathon in May.  This 1/2 marathon is actually the very first one I ran 7 years ago, so I’m thinking it would be a great experience for me to run again 7 years later.  I’ll have to see how the event fits into my training schedule.

Also some other short-term fitness goals:

– attend a free Crossfit class – complete by January 31st – a new Crossfit gym opened near home and although I shouldn’t be using distance/location as an excuse for not trying Crossfit any sooner but the fact that the gym is much closer to home definitely makes it easier to fit into my schedule

I’m hoping the free Crossfit class meets my expectations and I fall in love.  Then I can sign up for a monthly membership!  Again, I’m not sure how Crossfit would fit with my marathon training schedule.  I’m not sure if my body could handle it all.  We’ll see.

Anyway, I finally had a good workout today after 4 days of being sick and recovering.  I really disliked the feeling of being sick and tired and I even attempted to work out the other day but I simply had no energy 😦

Now time to pack and figure out what I need to do before I leave on Sunday!

Leave a Reply

