Can’t believe I was actually looking forward to eating my broccoli!

It really caught me off guard this morning when I started getting excited about eating my packed lunch of mini crab cakes and roasted broccoli.  Seriously?  Me?  Excited about broccoli?  Definitely a first.  That’s like me getting excited about cottage cheese.. it’s quite unbelievable because a year ago, I would avoid broccoli and cottage cheese and would refuse to eat them.  It truly is amazing how our taste buds change once we start eating healthier.  French fries?  No more cravings… potato chips?  I think about them every now and then, but can still go without.  

Image

 

When I finally had my lunch, I couldn’t get over how delicious the food tasted.  Or maybe I was just really hungry?  Either way, I enjoyed my lunch… with broccoli!  And when I was done eating, I still wanted more!

Anyway, on top of being super delicious, this meal was SO EASY to make.  There were a couple steps to the crab cakes but so worth it.  Oh and I don’t know if you could really call them crab cakes since they only had 3 ingredients (red onion, crab meat and eggs) but I’ll call them crab cakes.

Crab cakes

2 cans crab meat

1 small red onion, finely diced

4 egg whites, 1 whole egg

Old bay seasoning (I’ve used salt & pepper in the past and that works too)

 

So you start off my sauteing the finely diced red onion and crab meat in a tbsp of olive oil.  Add old bay seasoning, I added about 1tsp (you can adjust to your taste).  Saute for 5 minutes and then turn off the heat and allow to cool.  It will probably take about 30-45 minutes for the mixture to cool, just enough time to do a HIIT workout or Insanity/TurboFire workout or any cardio work out 🙂

Once mixture has cooled down, mix in eggs.  Heat up your pan and form mini crab cakes using a tablespoon.  Really, you can make them any size you like.  I used a non-stick pan, so I didn’t add any olive oil to fry the crab cakes but you could add a bit of olive oil if needed.  Each side takes about 3-4 minutes to brown.

Roasted broccoli

Broccoli florets

olive oil

salt

garlic powder

 

I simply tossed the broccoli florets in a bit of olive oil, salt and garlic powder (again you can add salt/garlic powder based on your own preferences), placed the florets in a foil lined baking sheet and baked at 375 for 20 minutes, or until broccoli tips started to brown.

Ta-da!  That’s it. Loved how easy the meal was to prepare.

I made more roasted broccoli for lunch tomorrow and oven roasted some chicken thighs.  I did add a bit of bbq sauce on top of the chicken thighs, unnecessary sugar but I’ll have to adjust the rest of my meals to make up for it.  Overnight oats are in the refrigerator and I can’t wait to have them in the morning.

My body is still in holiday mode, and I just can’t seem to get to bed at a decent time.  This morning my alarm went off at 6am, I turned off my alarm and  went back to bed for “10 more minutes”  Finally woke up and it was already 8am!  Didn’t make it into the office til after 9am, and I was hoping to get into work at an earlier time tomorrow.  I don’t know if that can happen if it’s already 10:45pm and I’m still up writing this post.

Must get to bed.. good night!

Leave a Reply

