1st goal for 2013

The past few days have passed way too quickly. It’s hard to believe that I only have two more days off and then I’m back to work. No idea how I’m going to make it to the office for 8am when I’ve been sleeping in til 9am for the past few days.
On the 28th we had friends over for a post xmas get together and gift exchange.

image

It was great to see friends and share good food, good wine and good conversation. Even better was seeing our kids playing together. 8 kids between the ages 3-6 running around the house and playing with toys that my own kids have forgotten about. The guys had fun playing a few friendly poker games.and having drinks. Hubby enjoyed going outside in the -20 weather to barbeque some pork skew.

image

the party ended at 1am and all the kids (except one) stayed awake but every kid also passed out once in the car.
Kids and I are trying to get back to a regular schedule but it’s already almost 10pm and both kiddies are still awake. Goal is to have them asleep by 10pm.
Mexico is also 12 days away and tomorrow my plan is to put together a check list of what we will need for the trip.
AND one last thing that I want to post is my first goal for 2013…
To complete my first full marathon.

It’s a huge goal for nd and something that I’ve always wanted to do.  Back in 2005-2006 when I first started running, I completed 5 half marathons and I knew it was time to set my goal to run a full marathon. Then I had my daughter in July 2007 and never got back into running. Then I had my son in February 2009 and in 2011 I tried running again. I continued running in 2012 but never reached my mileage goals.

So 2013 is the year. And I’m nervous because I know my knees will be aching and in pain during each and every run. first thing on my to-do list is to see my doctor and get a referral to a podiatrist so that I can get a new set of custom orthodics. Hopefully I can get that done once I’m back from Mexico.

So I suspect there will be more running-related posts next year. The Manitoba marathon is on Fathers day (June) so only about 5 months to train.

Wish me luck 🙂

Have you set your goals for 2013?

2 thoughts on “1st goal for 2013

Leave a Reply

