Eat Clean: Day 4 and 5 of 55

A couple days ago I had breakfast at McDonald’s and I came up with a plan to get back on track and focus on eating clean for the rest of the day.  I had a plan and I just had to execute it.  Unfortunately I failed the execution part.  Looking back I can’t remember what I even had at lunch time but for supper I did have a spicy chicken wrap (breaded chicken fillet) a couple chicken nuggets and a few nachos with cheese & chili.

I find that when I’m indulging, it’s not a big amount, it’s a little bit here and a little bit there.  It still catches me off guard when I feel the guilt of eating 2 chicken nuggets.  One of the individuals I follow on Instagram posted something I found to be very motivational.  Her message was that there needs to be a balance in life when it came to healthy eating and exercise.  It needs to be a lifestyle can you enjoy and doesn’t feel like “work”.  Why be so strict and hard on yourself?  There are those that are training to be on stage at a contest/competition and if I’m not one of those individuals then I need to learn to give myself a little bit of breathing room.

I do have goals to feel confident when I wear a bikini in January (unless I wear a tank top and shorts) but I know I can get there without the guilt.

So the past couple days still haven’t been great for me, but I did have a great leg workout today and eating has been pretty good.  I enjoyed going out for dim sum with the family, and for the first time ever I stayed away from the usually delicious deep fried dim sum dishes.  I’m always a sucker for the beef curry wontons or calamari or spring rolls.  And I usually always indulge in the fried noodles too, skipped that completely today.  It’s the small victories for me.

The elf 4 health challenge starts tomorrow and I’ve already started exchanging emails with my elf buddy Brianna.  She’ll be my buddy for 2 weeks and we will keep each other motivated and focused on our health-related goals.

As part of the challenge there are also daily challenges to complete.  Here’s the list of Week 1 challenges:

Monday

Go meatless today.
Show us what you make! 

Tuesday

Send a card or handwritten note to a friend.

 

Wednesday

Try a new workout today!
Show us what you did to sweat!

 

Thursday

Get up 15 minutes early to meditate and reflect. 

Friday

How many colors can you eat today? Challenge yourself!
Post pictures of your colorful eats in our Facebook Group, on Instagram or by Tweeting. Email photos to your elves!

Leave a Reply

