Put the chips and dip down and walk away…

I had to make a quick stop at Costco tonight to pick up some protein powder.  As I walked through the aisles, I remembered how delicious the artichoke and jalapeno dip was that I had at the project wind-up party  a month ago.

Image

I quickly scanned the ingredient list.. hm.. mayonnaise.. that’s not very healthy.. eh.. it’ll be okay if I just have a bit.  I grabbed one off the shelf and placed it in my cart.  As I continued walking through the aisles, I picked up my whole grain bread, grapes and almonds.  Then I realized.. chips!  I need chips for the dip.  So I went to look for the same chips that we had at the party.

Image

 

Multigrain chips.. can’t be that bad right?  Again, I quickly scanned the nutritional information and ingredients.  10 chips, 140 calories, 7g fat, 18g carbs.. hmm.. not that great, but again, I’m sure I can limit myself to less than 10 chips.

I lined up at the cashier and placed the items on the conveyor belt.  Hmm.. do I really need the chips and dips?  Can I honestly limit myself to a small portion?  I knew deep down inside that it wasn’t possible to limit myself to a small portion, and once they were in the house I knew I’d easily turn to them when I was craving a snack.  So when it was time to scan through my order, I asked the cashier if I could leave behind the chips and dip.  Once I finished paying for the groceries I felt much better with the decision to leave behind the chips and dip.  I didn’t need the temptation at home and I didn’t need $15 worth of chips and dip.

So today was the day to take my progress shot.  I started my clean eating 10 days ago, and there were moments where I wasn’t eating completely clean, so I think my progress picture shows that.

Image

 

Left: Nov 7th, Right: Oct 7th

I am very motivated to continue with the clean eating and to see what I can achieve in the next month.  

I also took a picture of myself downstairs in my gym room and I thought it was interesting to see how much the lighting affects the way a photo turns out:

Image

 

The picture above shows a pretty defined shoulder, but I’m pretty sure it really doesn’t look like that.

 

3 thoughts on “Put the chips and dip down and walk away…

  1. cathyo says:

    Great will power to leave the chips and dip behind! I’m a great believer of “if it’s not in the house, you can’t eat it”. Your home gym looks amazing. That is quite the collection of dumb belss!

    • j! ayson says:

      Yup, if it’s in the house I will definitely eat it! We were quite lucky when we first put together our home gym, a lady was selling the entire set with the racks at a fraction of the cost!

Leave a Reply

