Friday night.. Sweet dreams…

I knew it wasn’t a good idea to check out the boutique next door knowing that Kim was most likely going to be there.  I had told Jackson that I was going to the ladies room, which I had done, but I should have gone straight back to him when I was done.  I walked into the dessert shop and scanned the busy dining area.  I quickly spotted him and walked over  As soon as I was close enough I noticed two big plates with various desserts on them.  Some eaten partially, some not touched at all.  Jackson had chosen a small circular booth, so I sat down on one end and slid my way around to sit close closer to him but making sure I was still able to face him.  “Sorry I took so long.  I …” I realized what I had done was extremely inconsiderate or me and paused “… went to check out the boutique next door and Kim was there.”  I could tell by the expression on Jackson’s face that he wasn’t too impressed with me at the moment. “I’m sorry” I added.  Jackson let out a small sigh.  “I just don’t know why you would do that if we came here together.”  “Sorry,” I repeated.  I looked over the plates of dessert and noticed a couple of my favorite desserts.  Desserts that I had mentioned to Jackson were my favorites.  “aww.. he remembered” I thought to myself.  I remember him asking me about my favorite foods once when we had gone for a coffee run at work.  He was the new guy on the floor, so I had invited to join me and some other coworkers on a trip to Starbucks.  I also noticed that my favorite desserts on the plates were the ones that were partially eaten. To try and lighten up the mood, I commented “Wow, you pretty much ate all my favorite desserts.  Thanks for sharing.”  I smiled up at Jackson.  Another small sigh, “Well I had to do something while I was waiting for you.”  Ouch!  That stung a little.  Jackson handed me a fork, “Here eat now, there’s plenty left.”  I took the fork from him, “Thanks” I replied.  Head down, I started picking away at the desserts.  There wasn’t much conversation between us and I could feel Jackson watching me eat.  And then he slid closer to me so that we were now sitting side by side.  He gently grabbed a strand of my hair that had fallen out of my ponytail and tucked it behind my ear.  The slightest graze of his hand near my ear gave me goosebumps.  I wondered if he felt me shiver.  Jackson seemed to have noticed the goosebumps on my arm.  I couldn’t tell if they were from Jackson sitting so close to me or if I was just cold.  It was a cool autumn afternoon and I thought that a short sleeve sweater would be sufficient to keep me warm.  Again, me not thinking.  He took off his sweater and draped it around my shoulders.  He slid even closer to me so that he could make sure his sweater was covering me up okay.  Although I was warm, I could still fell the goosebumps.  They were definitely because of him.  “Thanks for the sweater and for the desserts,” I told him.  “Anytime,” he replied.  Then added “I would love to keep you warm and well fed any day.”  And boy didn’t that catch me off guard and make me blush.  Jackson started working out at Mackenzie Financial six months ago and quickly became part of the group I usually had lunch with.  I worked in a male dominated department, so my entire lunch group was guys, so having him join us didn’t feel any different.  There wasn’t much more talking between Jackson and I while I continued to eat the various desserts.  There seemed to be a gravitational pull between us, because even though we were already sitting next to each other, it was like our bodies wanted to be closer and were moving closer towards each other.  There was a moment when Jackson leaned into me to reach over and adjust his sweater on my shoulders.  After the adjustment I felt him pause and I could feel his warm breath on the back of my neck.  It immediately sent a tingling sensation throughout my entire body.  “Thanks again,” I quietly said to Jackson as he sat up once again.  I put down my fork, took a sip of my hot chocolate and then just looked at him and allowed myself to drink up his entire image.  I realized then, that this was the first time I’d seen him in casual clothes, jeans, a t shirt and sweater.  I was used to seeing him in his business casual attire.  He looked so good.  And then I thought to myself “and he could be yours.”

There really wasn’t much conversation for the rest of the night.  Jackson and I talked a lot while at work, either during lunch or via email or instant messaging at our desks.  So it was really nice to just sit next to him and enjoy the quiet time together.  As I finished the last morsel of dessert, I sat back and rested on the back of the booth seat.  I closed my eyes for a moment. “Full? Happy?” Jackson asked. “Mmmm Hmmm” I replied with my eyes still closed.  I felt Jackson moving, shuffling a bit in the booth.  Then I felt him sitting back beside me, he lifted my head and placed it on his shoulder as he sat down very closely next to me.  I couldn’t help but smile.  It felt so perfect.

Leave a Reply

