Eat Clean Day 1: Things I’ve learned in the past 2hrs

I’ve been at the office for 2 hours and started thinking about I brought for lunch and snacks today.  Also thought about what I had for breakfast and here’s what I’ve learned so far:

  • I’m going to have to give up coffee, or learn to drink it without my flavoured creamer.  At first I was thinking I’d allow myself to have my coffee and creamer, but now I’m realizing that if I’m going to eat clean, I really need to give 100%.  I’ve gone without coffee before (gave it up for Lent – 40 days), so I know it’s something I can do.  Unless I learn to drink my coffee black or with skim milk and sweetened with agave.  For now, I will stick to my ginger peach green tea.
  • Whole wheat bread will only be eaten for breakfast and if possible every other day.  I’ve read online that whole wheat bread is considered “clean” but should be kept at a minimum if you really want to see results
  • I need to prepare next day’s breakfast the night before.  Today I ran out of time in the morning, which resulted in my quick breakfast of whole wheat toast with natural peanut butter.
  • Most important… I can’t allow myself to try and justify tiny cheats or to convince myself that I’ll make up for it by working out extra hard later.  No excuses.  Just do it.

I’m going to start visiting The Eat-Clean Diet site more often to get inspired and to find answers to any questions I may have.  It looks like the site has a good database of tips and recipes, so I will need to take advantage of that.

This morning was tough, and there was a moment when I thought that I’d “start tomorrow”.  But if I keep that attitude, I’m never going to make it to my goal of 5 days.

4 thoughts on “Eat Clean Day 1: Things I’ve learned in the past 2hrs

  1. lavenderlines says:

    Have you tried flavoured coffees? I know when I was trying to kick the flavoured creamer habit, I switched to flavoured coffees. I’m more of a tea drinker anyway and the flavoured teas you can get are amazing.

  2. Leesa D says:

    I gave up coffee a little while ago and am loving all the new teas I’ve found! Chocolate Mint Rooibos, Amaretto Rooibos, Coconut Cream Green Tea. Mmm so many yummy flavors out there 🙂 Clean Eating can be a struggle at first but once you get into the hair you’ll wonder how you ever ate any other way!

Leave a Reply

