50 Shades..

Last week a coworker of mine had asked if I read the 50 Shades of.. book series and she was thinking about reading them.  Until she had mentioned the books, I actually never thought about reading the books.  I heard women absolutely loved them, so I got curious.  I found myself reading the first book last Friday night… by Sunday evening, I had finished the 3rd and final book.

Were the books so good that I had to finish them over the span of one weekend?  No.  And to be honest, by the time I got to the 3rd book (which is 700+ pages) I was just skimming through the pages to see if anything good was happening.  And when I say good.. I don’t mean, good as in passionate love making.. I mean good as in.. is there a hint of a storyline here?  At about page 50 in the 3rd book, I realized that there was no way I was going to read the entire book, so I went to the end, backed up about 100 pages and skimmed those pages just to see how the entire book series ends.

Final verdict?  I didn’t like the series and I wouldn’t recommend them to anyone to read.  There were a few good things about the book:

  • I am such a sucker for the boy/girl relationship, where the super hot, super sexy guy who has never fallen in love, finally falls in love with the shy girl who feels like she’s nothing special.  This reminded me of the Twilight relationship between Edward and Bella.. 
  • hmmm…..

Okay, maybe that’s the only good thing I enjoyed about the book.  Did the book get me lusting after my husband?  Not really..  it’s definitely a “ooh.. that’s a bit hot” moment, but that’s about it.

So how did I manage to read the books so quickly?  Whenever I start reading a book, it’s very hard for me to put the book down and stop reading.  When it’s a series, I will read through the entire series, day after day until I’m done.  I think it’s just wanting to know how everything ends.  This shows my lack of patience.. hehe.. 

I seem a bit harsh on my review of the 50 Shades of.. book series.  I think this is mainly because… (and here’s my internet confession) I’ve been reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.  And now that I’ve read 50 Shades, I’d have to say that the Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a combination of Twilight and 50 Shades.  The series which currently has 10 books (actually Wikipedia says 11 books.. which means I’ve got some catching up to do!) can be described as: 

An ongoing series of paranormal romance books by author J. R. Ward. The series focuses on six vampire brothers and warriors who live together and defend their race against Lessers, de-souled humans who threaten their kind. The first book in the series was published in 2005.

It’s got the boy/girl relationship where the super hot warrior vampire falls for a woman, and they’re attracted to each other but try to fight their feelings.  I think that’s the best way to describe it.  So there’s that YAY feeling when they finally hook up, and when they do hook up the passionate love-making is WAY better than 50 Shades.  And the best part?  There’s a real storyline.  Stuff happens outside of the bedroom.

Now I need to go find out where to get the 11th book.