Yummy snack bars… oatmeal coconut flax dark chocolate chip..

For the past week I’ve been searching for a healthy cookie or muffin recipe where I could use oatmeal, coconut and dark chocolate chips.  I didn’t have much luck until tonight when I found a recipe for these oatmeal coconut pecan squares with chocolate chips.

I changed up the recipe a bit and here’s what I used:

oatmeal coconut flax squares with chocolate chips
1 c rolled oats
1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c brown sugar
1/2 c dark chocolate chips
1/2 c unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 c flax
1/4 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
5 T unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 egg
1 t vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Combine all the dry ingredients (oats through salt) in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, mix together the melted butter, egg and vanilla. Dump the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until well blended. Oil up an 8×8 pan and pour mixture in, patting the top flat with your hands while making sure the mixture gets into the corners. Bake for 25 minutes and cool. Cut into squares.

Image

They turned out great!  Although the next time I think I’ll definitely cut back on the sugar.  I’m not sure if it’s just me being a bit more sensitive to sweets but it seemed overly sweet to me.  And next time I’ll try substituting the butter with coconut oil.  Oh and one other change, I’ll substitute the dark chocolate chips with a darker chocolate, maybe buy a Lindt 85% dark chocolate bar and just chop it up.  A small square is enough to satisfy that sweet craving and I can’t wait to bring some to work with me.

One thought on “Yummy snack bars… oatmeal coconut flax dark chocolate chip..

Leave a Reply

