Playing catchup…

and I must warn you my thoughts seem to be all over the place.  I’ve been meaning to write a post but have failed to organize my time to allow me to do so.  This past Monday Canadians celebrated Thanksgiving but due to schedule conflicts, my family celebrated Thanksgiving with an early Saturday lunch get together.  Even more nontraditional than having Thanksgiving lunch two days early, we didn’t have turkey either.  There was still plenty of food and I was well behaved and stayed away from the sweets.  I also climbed onto the roof and with the help of the hubby we put up the Christmas lights.  With the cooler weather ahead of us, it’s definitely a good thing that we got them up when we did.

The rest of the weekend was fairly relaxing, which was really nice.  The down side to a relax 3-day weekend?  It makes it hard to get motivated when it’s time to go back to work.  Work still hasn’t slowed down and this week and next, there will be a huge push to get alot of work done in a short period of time.

Health-and-exercise-wise?  I’m still struggling with that, still struggling to find that balance.  When those moments of indulgence happen, it makes me want to go all out, have all the foods that I’ve been craving or think I’m craving.  I start telling myself, “I’ll start again tomorrow”  Then a few minutes later, I’ve come to my senses and realize that I’m being ridiculous and there’s no need to start again tomorrow.  I can simply enjoy the indulgence and get back on track.  Lately I’ve been hearing and reading more about different lifestyles in regards to nutrition.  Clean eating, low-carb, vegan, paleo.  Each individual will write about the benefits and will post amazing progress pictures to support their words.  In general, I know the goal is to stay away from processed, high-sugar foods.  But are grains bad?  Or only things that are refined?  Those who live a Paleo lifestyle, will say staying away from grains and dairy has been the best decision they’ve made.  But I suppose each lifestyle has it’s benefits and it’s a matter of finding one that works for me.  This morning I thought about trying to go paleo, then I realized that I wouldn’t be able to have french vanilla creamer in my coffee, so I dismissed that thought.  I am focusing on clean eating and low-carbs.  I don’t think I can cut out carbs completely.  And I do need to find that balance to satisfy those cravings and not feel guilty.

Today actually I had no grains in any meals.. mainly protein, veggies and fruit and it’s now 8pm and I’ve got a headache, not sure if it’s due to the lack grains/carbs in my system.  I’ve got tons of work to do but really want to go to bed early.

I better get going, try to focus and get a good night’s sleep.  I’ll continue my brain dump tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

