Thank you cafeteria chef and a new baked banana oatmeal recipe

First, I really should thank the chef at my work cafeteria for making (in my opinion), pretty bad hashbrowns/breakfast potatoes.  But he’s good in terms of making them look really delicious.  I walk up to the counter and I see this tray of golden brown little potato chunks and I think, mmm.. crispy potatoes.  It really is a weakness of mine, so I’m really saying MMMM in my mind.  And yesterday I had a moment of weakness and I hear the words come out of my mouth “I’ll take an order of hashbrowns please”.  At this point I’m really excited to get back to my desk to start munching on the hashbrowns.  I even get into the elevator and think maybe I can eat a couple on the elevator ride up.  Then I stop and tell myself, “You’re only going up from the 5th floor to the 17th floor, you can wait 30 seconds”  So I get to my desk, open up my takeout container of hashbrowns, open up a couple packets of ketchup for dipping and start munching.  A couple hashbrowns later… mmmm..eeh.. okay so the hashbrowns aren’t as crispy as they look… a couple more hashbrowns… yeah, definitely not as good as I expected…. mmm.. they actually seem greasier than I last remember… even the ketchup isn’t helping..  okay.. I can’t do it.. 

So after 10 or so hashbrowns, I close up the container and toss it in the garbage.  I know.. tsk tsk for throwing away food.  But really.. better in the garbage than in my tummy.  Actually it would have been better to not have gone down to the cafeteria at all.  It’s like I’m trying to sabotage my own progress.

Anyway, after that not-so-pleasant breakfast experience, I told myself that I had to find recipes for other breakfast options.  I still had a few ripe bananas from the other day (didn’t use them up in the banana oatmeal cookies), so I did another search online and found a recipe for baked banana oatmeal.

I quickly skimmed the ingredients list and the list was short and simple.  So I started pulling out items from the pantry.  I got all the dry ingredients mixed in the bowl and moved on to the wet ingredients, only to realize that I had used up the last few eggs making today’s lunch.  Oops.. so I left out the egg.  And I was concerned that the dish wouldn’t turn out, but it did.  I’m actually sitting at my work desk right now, typing out this post and enjoying the baked banana oatmeal w/ blueberries (added on top)

Here are the ingredients:

1) Bananas

Slice 2 bananas. You can add these however you like – in with the wet ingredients or arranged in a pattern on the top (and/or bottom!) of the dish. (You’ll need an additional mashed banana for the wet ingredients below)

2) Combine the dry ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon * I love adding cinnamon to all my baked recipes

3) Combine the wet ingredients:

  • 1 egg, beat
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1.5 cups skim milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla

4) Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Mix well.

5) Spray the bottom and sides of an  an 8″ pan (square or round)  (You can also line with parchment paper for easy removal and cutting!).

6) Layer some banana slices on the bottom. Pour batter into pan. Top with remaining banana slices. * This is where I added the blueberries

7) Pop into a 375* oven for about 26 minutes.

8) After 26 minutes, increase heat to broil, sprinkle oatmeal with 1 heaping tbsp brown sugar and broil for 3-4 minutes.  * I skipped this stepped

And here’s how mine turned out:

Image

 

I think this is a great dish to make at the start of the week to have throughout.  I try to have a healthier breakfast during the work week, and like to think about having a little extra on the weekends.  I made this last night, so I’ll be eating this throughout the weekend.  But it’s good, so I’m alright with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

