Grapefruit.. how I’ve missed you…

image

It’s probably been about 2 months since I last purchased a bag of grapefruit at the supermarket.  This week I decided I’d add grapefruit to my morning snack.  The hubby was so sweet last night and peeled all 6 grapefruits, so now I just have to pack my small ziploc container.  

I also tried making zucchini fritters last night.  I found this recipe.  Even though my baking sheet was greased with a bit of olive oil, the fritters still stuck 😦

They didn’t look very pretty, but I must say, they were super delicious!!  Really can’t wait to make them again and they were so easy to make.  

Tuesday night I made baked tilapia fillets with onion, tomatoes and Cajun seasoning.  Those turned out really good too!  And I made another batch of whole wheat cottage cheese blueberry pancakes.  I added some dark chocolate chips too.   So the past couple days have been filled with good home cooked lunches/snacks.  

I’ve got just over a month before my end goal date and I’m thinking about following a workout DVD.  Just not sure what I should try.  Should I try a month of Insanity?  Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30? Jillian Michaels Extreme Shed & Shred?  I’ll review the Jillian Michaels workout programs and see what they’re all about.  I’ve heard some great things about her workouts and I enjoyed watching her on the Biggest Loser, so hopefully her workouts are good.

I feel focused on clean eating and am looking forward to the next month.  I’ve got to keep reminding myself that the hard work, focus and determination will result in improvements to my physique.  It may not be the final goal but any progress is good progress.

My water intake is increasing, I still haven’t hit my goal of 8 glasses of water a day, I think I’m having 5-6 glasses right now but I am getting 7-8 hours of sleep each night.  I haven’t made it to my work gym either.  I’m getting more sleep, but not because I’m going to bed earlier but because I’m sleeping in.  Which means I’m not driving into work with the hubby but rather taking the bus, which means I’m not making it into work early to work out.  Complete fail!  I am still getting my evening workouts in but those morning workouts would be a great way to start my day.  I haven’t given up completely and will try again.

And the reason I’m not getting to bed earlier?  London 2012!!  I’ve been staying up later than usual, watching Olympic replays.  The past couple nights, I got a chance to watch Weightlifting and O-M-G!  I am so amazed at the strength of these individuals who can lift twice their body weight (minimum!) in the clean & jerk.  And the gymnasts? again O-M-G at their physiques.  The men gymnasts have massive arms/shoulders and when they’re on the rings, they are so controlled with their holds.  Amazing!

One thought on “Grapefruit.. how I’ve missed you…

  1. Crystal says:

    Yes, I agree! The Olympics – as wonderful as it is for me to support my fellow Canadians and curse at my lack of dedication compared to the fine athletes competing from all countries – are a HUGE curse on my life! Staying up late to watch events and foregoing my morning yoga and stretching to watch more Olympics is, needless to say, not good for my routine. 😦
    On the bright side, we finally won a gold…in womens’ trampoline! 🙂

Leave a Reply

