There’s hope yet…

I may finally get some relief from this neck/back pain by seeing a chiropractor.

Image

Went to see the chiropractor today and as he was examining my neck/back he identified all the really sore/tender spots.  X-rays were taken and it was very interesting to see the slight curve in my spine as well as the curve (or more specifically, the lack of) in my neck.  It looks like my desk job and sitting in front of a computer all day is contributing to the neck/back pain.  My running is also contributing to the soreness.  As soon as I get into the office tomorrow I’m going to re-adjust my laptop/monitor and overall desk setup.  I will also be going to the chiropractor a few times a week for the next two weeks to get adjusted.  My neck feels slightly better following today’s adjustment.  In the mean time I’ll take it a little easy on the workouts.

Overall meal planning has gone well this week, with a small indulgence and moment of weakness with a bowl of potato chips.  Tonight I also tried out a recipe for Whole Wheat Blueberry Cottage Cheese Pancakes and Muffins.

Here’s the pancake recipe:

WHOLE WHEAT COTTAGE CHEESE PANCAKES

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1-1/2 cups low fat small curd cottage cheese*

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1 cup 100% whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 cup blueberries (or substitute your favorite add-in)

*If you don’t like the consistency of cottage cheese, try blending it first

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients except blueberries in a large mixing bowl. Mix well until all ingredients are fully combined.
  2. Pour batter by the spoonful onto heated frying pan or griddle. Leave room for spreading. Immediately sprinkle a couple of blueberries onto the top of each pancake.
  3. Fry until golden brown on each side. Serve hot, with maple syrup, if desired.

 

I think they turned out okay.
image

It was tough because the blueberries were bursting and when I removed the pancake from the pan the blueberries were a little sticky. I tried one and they’re actually really delicious! Next time I’ll cut back on the sugar. I can’t wait to bring these to work tomorrow for breakfast.

I debated on working out tonight but decided on a light leg work out. Squats, dead lifts, calf raises and hamstring curls. Hoping to make it out for a run tomorrow morning as well. My plan is to the kiddies to bed at 9 pm so I can get a full 8 hours of sleep.
Work is definitely busy so I’m going to need all the rest I can get tonight. Rest and a nice strong coffee tomorrow morning.
Here’s my new favorite coffee:

So bold and delicious!

2 thoughts on “There’s hope yet…

Leave a Reply

