Not always all or nothing…

image

I love my Starbucks lattes, specifically Vanilla lattes.

A tall Vanilla Latte from Starbucks contains:  200 calories, 5g fat, 27g sugar and 28g carbs.

About 5 years ago, I still loved my Starbucks lattes but didn’t want to consume those unnecessary calories.  So I changed up my Starbucks drink of choice to a:  non-fat-no-foam-extra-hot-sugar-free-vanilla-latte (now known as  their skinny vanilla latte, I think)

A tall Skinny Vanilla Latte from Starbucks contains: 100 calories, 0.2g fat, 13g sugar and 14g carbs.  I checked online and saw that sugar free vanilla syrup only has 5g sugar, and I would’ve thought that’swhat was used in the Skinny Vanilla Latte, but perhaps Skinny simply means non-fat milk?

Then a couple years ago, I became a little lactose intolerant and having dairy would upset my tummy (just enough to cause a little discomfort), so I looked for another Starbucks drink alternative.  My new drink of choice:  half-sweet white mocha americano.

A tall half-sweet white mocha americano contains: 23 calories, 0g fat, 2.5g sugar and 3.5g carbs (half-sweet = 1/2 pump of syrup which contains 25 calories, 5g sugar and 7g carbs)

I find that a tall half-sweet white mocha americano has a bit of that creaminess and sweetness that I love when I get a latte,  but with a fraction of the calories!

On to another drink…

image

We ran out of our usual protein that we purchase at Costco.  For the past year or so, Costco offered the best pricing on protein powder.  When we went by Costco this past weekend, the price had increased so we decided to check out Gorilla Jack who’s store is conveniently on the way home from work.  After scanning the different protein powders on the shelves, I picked the MyoFusion Advanced Muscle Building Protein Powder in Banana Perfection.  The flavour is actually quite delicious, not an overly strong banana flavor, but a subtle banana creamy flavour.  I hope to find some sweet and/or dessert recipes online that use banana flavoured  protein powder.  If I try any new recipes, I’ll make sure to post them here.

I’m still staying on top of my meal planning and I love being at work with a lunch bag full of healthy and satisfying foods.

A new goal that I’ve set for myself is to step away from my desk and go for a walk each and every day.  It happens way too often that I will take on more work and will accept meetings to the point that I don’t even get to step away from my desk.  Bringing a packed lunch often means that I am eating lunch at my desk, but it’s always nice to go for a walk to enjoy the weather and simply get up and stretch.  What I need to do it book the time in my calendar so that I don’t get caught up in back-to-back meetings.  Since I’ve been indoors the entire day, I can’t wait to leave the office in about 2 hours!

Leave a Reply

