Hard to hear the words…

but I really have no one to blame but myself.  During our workout last night, in between his encouraging words, hubby mentions “you’re not looking as lean”  I asked him what he meant exactly and he tried to make it seem like it wasn’t a big deal, just a casual comment.  Then he adds “you were leaner when you were doing more cardio”.  Ouch.  It hurt to hear the words but I knew that it was true.  I knew that my level of cardio was no where near the level when I first started working on my goal (Jan-Feb 2012).  Cardio now is almost non-existent.  I’ve had short periods where I’ve completed the Insanity workouts but I just haven’t been consistent.  And I know that I can’t expect to see any kind of improvement in my physique without putting the work in.

Here’s a little secret…  once a day, usually in the morning I’ll step into the bathroom, lift up my shirt to reveal my midsection and will give myself the “ok, I haven’t gained” confirmation pep talk.  Of course I’ll continue to stare at my midsection and wonder why it isn’t flatter or more defined.  haha.. funny isn’t it?  That I can still question the reasons behind my current physique even though I know exactly why my physique is where it’s at.  Then I continue my pep talk and remind myself that any time I feel the urge or craving to eat something I know I shouldn’t, I should just think back to that image of my midsection and how giving into that craving isn’t going to help my midsection lean out.

I don’t know what it is, but that image and the pep talk sometimes just doesn’t help.  And I actually know why that is.  When I first started this journey, I made fairly big changes in my eating and exercise routines.  It wasn’t gradual for me but something I jumped into.  I cut out all unhealthy foods and started exercising daily.  I remember times when hubby would tell me how impressed and how “hardcore” I was being with this lifestyle change.  And for two months I stuck to it and I did reach my goal.  Now, whenever I think about reaching my next goals I think to myself  “I did it once, I can do it again”.  It’s like I’m giving myself permission to indulge and slack off with my exercising with the thought that once I get serious about my goals again, I’ll be able to do it.  Easy.

So here’s the problem… I still haven’t set any goals.  A month or so ago, I had my measurements and fat percentage calculated, and I tried to set goals based on that.  Unfortunately I don’t think those goals were S.M.A.R.T goals.  With that being said, my first goal before anything else is to set my 2012 goals.

One thought on “Hard to hear the words…

Leave a Reply

