IFBB World Qualifiers 2012

I’m very proud of DH.  Today he competed in the IFBB 2012 World Qualifiers (which our city hosted) and placed 2nd in the Men’s Lightweight Bodybuilding category.

Image

DH plays a huge role is the progress I’ve made to date in terms of my healthy eating and exercise.  He supports me 110% and always pushes me to go a little harder.

DH trains all year long and doesn’t have an “off-season” so he was able to compete with minimal prep time and actually only registered for the competition 1 week ago.  Insane eh?!

It’s been a week of high protein, carb depletion, water loading, water depletion, carb loading and fat loading (I’m pretty sure in that exact order) but DH hung in there very well.  Slightly irritable and cranky but he still tried to be as calm and relaxed as possible.  Love him for that, because I’m sure if I was prepping for competition I’d be super cranky/grumpy.. hehe

And being as thoughtful as he is, he’s asking me where I want to go for breakfast tomorrow when really we should be going wherever he wants to go because he truly deserves it for all his hard work and dedication.

Last thing I’d like to mention is that in the 6 years that DH has been competing and I’ve been watching the competitions, the thought of training hard and competing to be on stage one day has never crossed my mind.  Now that I’ve experienced the progress I’ve seen in the past few months, I actually had the thought that I could possible train hard and see myself compete.  The thought of standing up on stage in a tiny posing suit terrifies me, so that’s definitely a fear I’d have to overcome.

Leave a Reply

