H.I.I.T vs Steady State Cardio

Last night I went back to the beginning of the Insanity workout program and completed the Plyometric Cardio Circut, a 40 minute cardio workout (including warmup and stretching).  It felt really good to do the workout, however when I tried to follow the cardio session with lifting weights, I found that I was too drained to try and lift heavier weights.  So I started thinking about HIIT (high intensity interval training) workouts vs steady state cardio and which would be more beneficial if my current goal is to gain lean muscle and get stronger.  I came across this article:

Why HIIT Is NOT Better For Fat Loss

For me personally, I found it difficult to balance HIIT workouts and lifting weights.  If I wanted to go heavier for my leg workout (squats, lunges, etc..) I struggled to give 100% to my HIIT workouts, which are very leg strength focused (lots of squats, jumping, etc)  If I lifted heavier for my shoulder exercises, I struggled with HIIT exercises where I am in plank position and my shoulders are burning to support the position.  So the first couple months where I was doing the Insanity workouts, I did take it easy on lifting weights and often found myself lifting lighter during leg exercises or skipping leg exercises altogether.

Now that I’m focused on gaining lean muscle and getting stronger and following my HIIT workout last night, it’s going to be important for me to switch over to steady state cardio workouts.

I also realized that I’m not feeding my body enough protein to support the gaining of lean muscle, so I’m going to add more emphasis to eating more protein in my meals and possibly adding a protein shake to my daytime meals/snacks.

DH has also decided to complete in the 2012 CBBF/IFBB World Championships Qualifiers which is taking place on April 28th, 2012.  That’s right, 8 days away and he just registered for the event last night.  DH maintains his physique throughout the year and he doesn’t have an “off-season”, so this allows him to have a shorter prep period leading up to competition.  I personally feel that it’s still not enough time, especially to ensure he dries out and fills out, but DH seems to know his body and what his body is capable of, so I am there to support him any way I can.

Leave a Reply

