Mid-week – wish the sun was shining…

All this gloomy weather is definitely making it hard to feel energized and feel motivated at work.  I woke up to my cell phone alarm going off at 5:05am.  Decided to just close my eyes “for just 5 more minutes”, and when DH finally woke me up it was 5:40am!  EEK!  I quickly jumped out of bed and into the shower.  Good thing I was already set on not putting much effort into my hair, it helped feel a little less rushed.

First “UGH” moment for today?  Squeezing a small amount of styling cream that I just purchased into my hand, rubbing the cream in my palms and realizing “eww.. this styling cream doesn’t smell very good”  Seriously.. WTF?! hair products are usually known for their amazing scents, but this one?  Far from amazing.  But I needed some type of product in my hair, so I continued to work the product through my towel-dried hair.  It definitely doesn’t stink, but it’s not very pleasant either and I just hope I don’t get stuck in a full elevator and someone is standing behind me inhaling the not so pleasant hair product smell.

Second “UGH” moment for today?  As usual, DH drops me off in front of the office building and I grab my lunch bag, purse and then also grab a couple free newspapers from the nearby newspaper dispenser, one for DH and one for myself.  I hand him his paper through his rolled down window and say goodbye, turn around and walk towards the building doors.  As I hear DH drive away, my hands full I realized “Darn it.. I forgot my coffee in the car!”  Worse part, this happened yesterday too!  So right at 7am when the cafeteria opens, I’m down there grabbing a coffee.  I hate buying cafeteria coffee, esp when it’s due to my forgetfulness.

One of the core team members that I work with is leaving the company so this week it seems that the plan is to go out for lunch to places that he’s never been to and yet we always speaking highly of and are some of our favorite places to eat.  Because he’s actually moving to another city, it would be great if he could experience these restaurants before he left.  Today, I believe the guys are taking him to VJ Burgers, a little burger joint and really it’s just a walk through drive through type of restaurant.  No tables and chairs, just a couple of picnic tables outside.  Will I indulge in a greasy burger and fries?  It’s very tempting to.  I packed my meals for the work day:  cottage cheese w/ pineapple, grapefruit, spinach salad w/ strawberries and some kung pao shrimp.  That actually sounds much more enjoyable that a burger but I’m the type of person who usually goes along with the crowd, and may end up having a burger.  Again that’s just a thought in my head right now, the chances of the burger becoming a reality?  Hard to tell, we’ll see what happens at lunch time.

 

Kung Pao Shrimp recipe from “The Crepes of Wrath

 

Total Prep and Cooking Time: 30 minutes
Yield: 4 servings

1 pound peeled and de-veined shrimp, washed thoroughly
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 large shallot, minced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon hot chili sauce (this can be found in the Asian section in any grocery store)
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons granulated sugar
1/4 cup dry roasted peanuts (optional)
rice, for serving

1. Begin to cook your rice while you cook the shrimp. Combine the de-veined, peeled, and cleaned shrimp and cornstarch in a small bowl. Toss to coat.

2. Heat the sesame oil in large skillet over medium-high heat and add in the minced shallot. Cook for a few minutes, until turning translucent, then add in the garlic and stir quickly.

3. Combine the chili sauce, ground ginger, rice wine vinegar, soy sauce, and sugar in a small bowl. Whisk well and add the sauce to the skillet, cooking for 2-3 minutes, until beginning to thicken.

4. Reduce the heat to medium. Add in the shrimp to the pan and cook for 4-5 minutes, until the shrimp are a bright pink/orange color and are cooked through. Stir in the dry roasted peanuts and serve over rice.

 

Leave a Reply

