The numbers and the goals.. and some meal planning too

So last week, I went to get my body composition done.  Here are the numbers:

As of April 10, 2012

Weight: 112lbs

Body Fat %: 18.6%

Waist: 77.5cm

Skinfold measurements

  • Triceps: 9.6mms
  • Biceps: 3.15mms
  • Subscapular: 10.2mms
  • Iliac Crest: 9.9mms
  • Medial Calf: 6.0mms

I’m not really sure what to do with the skinfold numbers.  I do want to bring the bigger measurements down, but by how much?  Don’t really know.  Based on a table from http://life.familyeducation.com/weight/health/35880.html, optimal body fat percentage in my age group (30-39) is 21-29%.  With my body fat percentage of 18.6%, I fall into the Low category.  Does this mean that I should even try to lower my body fat percentage?  I personally feel that I could lose more fat (especially around my mid-section) and the lower percentage of the Low category is 17%, so for now I’m thinking of setting my body fat % goal to 17%.

Weight-wise, I’d like to lose a few pounds of fat, but would like to gain a few pounds of muscle.  So ideally I wouldn’t want to see myself below 110lbs.

Meal-planning for the week:

Monday: Pan-fried Basa fish fillets (w/ cajun seasoning) and oven roasted asparagus

Tuesday:  Kung-pao shrimp and oven roasted broccoli

Wednesday:  BBQ skinless chicken thighs and egg white omlette

Thursday:  Black bean mussels and egg white omlette

Friday:  going out for lunch (coworkers going away luncheon)

I suspect I’ll have to pick up some ingredients to cook a few more meals for dinner time, or we’ll be eating alot of egg white and spinach omlettes.. hehe.. which is okay with me.  I do have some chicken meatballs that I could cook up with some whole wheat pasta, that’s definitely an option.  Thursday is my mom’s bday so I suspect we’ll be either ordering in food or eating out, so I will have to make sure I save Thursday evening as my cheat meal.

Cardio wise, I’m still not back to any regular cardio workouts and a part of me is hoping that once the weather warms up again, I’ll be outside walking or even running.

It’s that time of the month, and I’m feeling bloated and gross.  I had set a goal to workout in the mornings even to do some light cardio, perhaps 30-45 minutes, but I haven’t been successful at getting my butt to the gym.  No other excuse other than pure laziness.  If I can make it to the gym in the morning at least once this week, I will consider that a success.

Since I’m not doing as much cardio as I’d like, I’m trying to keep a close watch on my calorie intake.  Of course I say that, while thinking about have sushi for lunch.  Not a good start.  But so far sushi is a thought, not a reality.

 


 

 

 

Leave a Reply

