What have I been eating?

It’s been a month since I started on my new nutrition plan.  What does it look like?

a.m. breakfast

1 slice whole grain toast w/ natural peanut butter

1 low-cal yogurt

coffee w/ international delights french vanilla creamer

1 grapefruit

a.m. snack

almonds

grapefruit (any leftover from breakfast)

3 eggs (1 yolk) with spinach

lunch

salad

meat protein w/ veggies (beef & broccoli, shrimp & broccoli, roast chicken)

a piece or two of dark chocolate

p.m snack

almonds

pre-workout

3 eggs (1 yolk) with spinach

OR

meat protein w/ veggies

*** WORKOUT ***

post-workout

protein shake (w/ 2% milk)

That’s pretty much it.  In terms of my proteins I have alot of eggs (mainly whites).  And I don’t have any other bread except for breakfast.  In the past month, I have not had any pasta for lunch or dinner.

Once a week, I allow myself a “cheat” meal.  Past cheat meals have been sushi, dim sum and chinese food.

What have I cut out of my diet?

  • White rice
  • Fried potatoes (hash browns, potato chips)
  • Donuts
  • Muffins
  • Noodles
  • Creamy soups
  • Breakfast sandwiches (egg, bacon and cheese)

Do I miss the food?  Not really, I find that I ate the foods out of habit.  I remember there would be some mornings where I’d be eating hash browns and noting that they didn’t taste very good, but I’d still continue to finish off the plate of food.

Eating better definitely requires more organization and planning. I find that each evenings I’m spending 30 minutes preparing meals/snacks for the following day.

Progress pictures will be taken in a couple of days.

I can’t wait to see my progress.

Leave a Reply

